- Can you catch and shoot with .3 seconds?
- Can you jump while dribbling?
- Does an off the backboard pass count as an assist?
- Can you fake a free throw?
- Does a self alley oop count as a rebound?
- Is punching a basketball illegal?
- Can you dunk on a free throw?
- What is the one free throw rule?
- Can anyone dunk from the 3 point line?
- Why isn’t a eurostep a travel?
- Can you pass the basketball to yourself?
- Can you touch your own airball?
Can you catch and shoot with .3 seconds?
3 seconds or less on the clock, a player can’t catch and shoot, only tip a ball into the basket.
Cal lobbed a pass in and it was caught and shot off the backboard for the apparent score sending the game into overtime..
Can you jump while dribbling?
If the ball handler picks up their dribble and stands in a spot and then jumps, it is considered an ups an downs. … You must either shoot or pass the ball. Otherwise, it is a travel. So you cannot jump while you are dribbling.
Does an off the backboard pass count as an assist?
assist. It’s up to the stat keepers ultimately, if they think it looks like an off the backboard pass it’s an assist, if it looks like a shot attempt it counts as a Kobe assist.
Can you fake a free throw?
The free throw shooter shall not purposely fake a free throw attempt. … If the free throw attempt is to remain in play, the opposing team shall inbound on either sideline at the free throw line extended. If the free throw attempt is not to remain in play, then play will continue from that point.
Does a self alley oop count as a rebound?
Watching the replay, broadcast commentators Jackson and Van Gundy explained it well. In this case, the lob off the backboard is considered a missed shot. … Therefore, throwing a pass off the backboard to yourself is qualified as a missed shot, and rebound if you are successful in regaining control of the self alley-oop.
Is punching a basketball illegal?
— A player is called for a violation if he punches the ball with with a closed fist. … The player from team A gets the ball and many yell for the backcourt call, but it is not a violation because once an offensive player shoots the ball there is no longer offensive team control.
Can you dunk on a free throw?
No. The free throw shooter’s feet cannot break the plane of the free throw line until the ball touches “touches the basket ring, backboard or the free throw ends.”
What is the one free throw rule?
Under the new experimental NBA G League rule, one free throw worth one, two or three points will be awarded in the event of any foul that would typically result in one, two or three free throws being shot under standard NBA rules.
Can anyone dunk from the 3 point line?
As alluded to above, for a player to dunk from the three-point line they will have to be very tall, probably around 7 feet (2.13 meters) tall and long arms. There are many NBA players that fit this specification, but most players at this size do not have the coordination and athletic ability to make a jump of 23 feet.
Why isn’t a eurostep a travel?
The move is a crafty way to distribute the two steps allocated to a player after he stops dribbling, and it goes right to the edge of being a traveling violation. Anecdotal reports indicate that officials not familiar with the move may call it a traveling violation.
Can you pass the basketball to yourself?
— Blaise Bernie’s answer: Yes. Under the traveling rule, a player who attempts a shot or pass may not be the first to touch the ball unless it touches the backboard, rim or another player. Therefore, a player can intentionally pass the ball to himself off the backboard or rim.
Can you touch your own airball?
“You can’t rebound your own airball!” Yes, you can. It doesn’t matter whether your shot hits the rim, the backboard, or just air molecules — as long as its an intentional shot, you can be the first person to touch it on a rebound.